Wisconsin Clean Cities names Forward Fleet Award Recipients


MILWAUKEE — Wisconsin Clean Cities recently honored the top sustainable transportation leaders with the Forward Fleet Award in Wisconsin at the Wisconsin Clean Cities Virtual Annual Stakeholder Meeting, the nonprofit announced.

“Public and private fleets across Wisconsin and the industries supporting them continued to make smart investments in cleaner fuels, vehicles and technologies in 2020,” Lorrie Lisek, Wisconsin Clean Cities executive director, said. “These leaders upheld their commitment to sustainable transportation because they recognize the multiple, long-term benefits of their actions, both to their bottom lines and to their fellow citizens.”

- advertisement -

“Their dedication helps support the local economy and local jobs while positively impacting air quality. We thank them for their leadership and encourage others to follow their example as they continue to drive Wisconsin forward.”

Forward Fleet Award winners, honored for the amount of petroleum they displaced through the use of alternative fuels and sustainable transportation technologies, were fifth place Time Transport, Inc. of Franksville; fourth place Sheehy Mail Contractors, Inc. of Waterloo; third place Paper Transport, Inc. of De Pere; second place Contract Transport Services, LLC of Green Bay and first place Kwik Trip, Inc. of La Crosse.

Collectively, the Forward Fleet Award winners displaced more than 11.4 million gasoline gallon equivalents. According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, that represents the greenhouse gas emission reduction equivalent of taking roughly 22,000 passenger vehicles off the road for one year.

Wisconsin Clean Cities, a nonprofit organization serving the entire state of Wisconsin, is one of nearly 100 U.S. Department of Energy Clean Cities coalitions. The coalitions partner with members in the public, private and nonprofit sectors to increase the use of sustainable domestic fuels in the transportation sector by promoting the use of alternative fuels, alternative fuel vehicles and equipment and their fueling infrastructure as well as electric vehicles and their charging infrastructure. The programs improve air quality, reduce dependence on imported oil, support local jobs and strengthen the economy.

All Forward Fleet Award winners were selected from among Wisconsin Clean Cities members who submitted annual survey reports, which detail their efforts over the previous year to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and displace petroleum.

Wisconsin Clean Cities presented the awards during a virtual online ceremony on December 3. The coalition also recognized Wisconsin Clean Cities Board Member Jeff Tews during the event. Tews retired from his position as fleet operations manager for the City of Milwaukee Department of Public Works – Fleet Services this fall after 42 years of service.

The virtual event featured a presentation by Lt. Gov. Mandela Barnes, who serves as chairman of Gov. Tony Evers’ Task Force on Climate Change.

Other speakers included Director of the Wisconsin Office of Sustainability and Clean Energy Maria Redmond and Fleet Superintendent for the City of Madison Fleet Service Mahanth Joishy.

A recording of the virtual event will be available online.

Information about previous WCC Awards can be found here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here