Wisconsin Clean Cities honors top sustainable fleets


MILWAUKEE — Wisconsin Clean Cities recently honored the top sustainable fleet leaders in Wisconsin at the Wisconsin Clean Cities Annual Stakeholder Meeting and Awards.

“Wisconsin Clean Cities members continue to embrace their commitment to sustainability with their increased use of alternative fuels, alternative fuel vehicles and electric vehicles,” Wisconsin Clean Cities Executive Director Lorrie Lisek said. “Their efforts are helping to support local jobs and the economy, cleaner air, reduced dependence on imported oil and a better quality of life for all of those who live, work and play in Wisconsin. I applaud their efforts.”

- advertisement -

Forward Fleet Award winners, honored for the amount of petroleum they displaced through the use of alternative fuels and sustainable transportation technologies, were fifth place Time Transport of Franksville, fourth place Veriha Trucking of Marinette, third place Paper Transport of De Pere, second place Contract Transport Services of Green Bay and first place Kwik Trip of La Crosse.

Collectively, the Forward Fleet Award winners displaced more than 12.9 million gasoline gallon equivalents. According to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, that represents the greenhouse gas emission reduction equivalent of taking roughly 25,000 passenger vehicles off the road for one year.

The awards were presented on Dec. 2 during the Wisconsin Clean Cities Annual Stakeholder Meeting and Awards at the City of Madison Fleet Service’s LEED-certified Nakoosa Trail Fleet Facility.

Established in 1994, Wisconsin Clean Cities is one of the U.S. Department of Energy’s more than 75 Clean Cities coalitions. The organizations support the nation’s energy and economic security by building partnerships to advance affordable domestic transportation fuels, energy-efficient mobility systems and other fuel-saving technologies and practices.

The coalitions achieve this in a number of ways, including the advancement of alternative fuels, alternative fuel vehicles and sustainable vehicle technologies such as electric vehicles and their charging infrastructure. The efforts reduce the nation’s dependence on imported oil, improve air quality, support local jobs, drive economic development and promote improved quality of life.

All Forward Fleet Award winners were selected from among Wisconsin Clean Cities members who submitted annual survey reports, which detail their efforts over the previous year to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and displace petroleum.

In addition to the awards ceremony, the event featured breakout sessions on electric vehicles and natural gas for transportation, exhibitors, networking and a keynote address by Secretary Craig Thompson of the Wisconsin Department of Transportation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here